Poetry CD by K Morris – Review | LibroLiv

Rating:  ★★★★☆

A recording of 13 of K Morris’ poems:

  • Fire
  • My Old Clock I Wind
  • Leaf
  • Leaves Blown at Night
  • Lost
  • Ethereal
  • Waltz
  • The Poet and the Workman
  • There Was a Young Man Called Rory
  • There Was a Young Lady Called Flair
  • There Was a Young Lady Called Anna
  • When 
  • Dalliance

A couple of weeks ago, I received an email from K Morris asking me to review this CD. I have been quite busy recently – hence the utter lack of blogging (sorry!) – but I just knew I needed to squeeze this review in somewhere!

I love spoken poetry. I think it adds a whole other dimension to ordinary page poetry, for the poet’s meanings are much clearer based on where they naturally put their stresses. I’ve always thought Morris’ poetry would work well on the stage or generally if it was just spoken, what with the general rhyme and rhythms present in each poem. Thus, I was excited to listen to this collection.

When I inserted this disc into my stereo, I felt as though I had been transported to another world. Each and every poem in this collection was great, and I loved the quality of them being read aloud – I feel like it drew attention to Morris’s meanings more than can be understood simply from page poetry. It also meant I could spend more time considering each poem individually and really think about its meanings before I moved on.

I short, I felt like this was a really relaxing and unique experience. My only criticism would be that I found myself wanting longer, more meaty poems to listen to.

Visit K Morris’ blog by clicking here.

(Disclaimer: I received a copy of this CD poetry collection from K Morris in exchange for an honest review.)

4 thoughts on “Poetry CD by K Morris – Review | LibroLiv

  1. Pingback: A Review of my poetry cd | newauthoronline

Tell me what you think about this post!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s